Calgary Student Best Paper Award Guidelines

Dennis J. O’Brien USAEE/IAEE Best Student Paper Award


USAEE and IAEE are pleased to continue the Dennis J. O’Brien USAEE/IAEE Student Paper Award program for student papers on energy economics.




Up to 10 Student Paper Awards may be given, each consisting of a $500 cash prize plus a waiver of conference registration fees (a value of $300) for the 29th USAEE/IAEE North American Conference, October 14-16, 2010.


Four of these award recipients will also be invited to present their papers at the Best Student Paper Competition on the first day of the conference. These four students will receive an additional $250 cash prize, for a total of $750. A panel of judges at the student paper session will select one of the four papers to receive the Best Student Paper Award.


The winner of the Best Student Paper Award will receive a further $250 cash prize, for a total of $1,000. An award ceremony later in the conference will recognize all recipients of a Student Paper Award.


Application Guidelines


To be eligible for consideration, the applicant must

  • be a full-time student as of the application deadline (or have completed degree within the past 12 months and not be employed full-time);

  • be a member of IAEE in good standing. Membership information may be found at


The paper must

  • be original work completed by the student;

  • not be co-authored by a faculty member or other non-student (papers co-authored by students are ok).


Application materials consist of

  • Paper abstract (may be same as abstract submitted to conference, in case one has been submitted);

  • Paper – double-spaced; 8.5 by 11 inch page setup; 30 pages maximum (any paper that exceeds the page limitation will be subject to disqualification);

  • Letter from applicant stating that applicant meets qualifications listed above (include photocopy of student ID);

  • Letter from applicant’s advisor or another faculty member familiar with applicant’s research confirming that paper meets qualifications listed above and recommending it for consideration.


The application deadline is July 8, 2010. Please submit all materials electronically in pdf format to, with “Submission for Best Student Paper Award” in the subject line.


Application logistics


  • The application deadline is July 8, 2010. Please email all materials in pdf format to with "Submission for Student Paper Award" in the subject line.

  • You will be notified by August 5, 2010 regarding whether your paper has won a Student Paper Award and whether your paper is entered in the Best Student Paper Award Competition. In either case you must attend the conference to receive the award. Travel and accommodation costs associated with attending the conference are your responsibility.

  • If you are interested in presenting your paper at the conference even if you are not an award winner, you must also follow the regular paper submission procedures, submitting an abstract by the deadline May 21, 2010.


For further questions regarding the USAEE/IAEE Student Paper Award, please contact David Williams at




Dennis J. O’Brien co-founded the US Association of Energy Economics as a chapter of the IAEE in the early 1990s. From 1994-95, he was President of the US chapter. In 1997, he was elected President of the International Association. Those who knew him remember him as being very dedicated to helping students and energy economists in the early stages of their career. He passed away in 2005 on his return from an IAEE Conference.


Click to view a printable version of this article.